Captain America Civil War Review

I have to say that Captain America Civil War is one of my favorite Marvel films so far. Definitely, my favorite Captain America. The Captain America Civil War is based on the famous conflict in the comics. If you are a comic reader, like the Russo Brothers and my husband, you might think that you know what is going to happen. The Russo Brother have decided to avoid following the comics. Joe Russo said it perfectly in our interview about Civil War, “As a diehard comic book fan; I’m not interested in seeing a straight interpretation of a comic book. I already know the story. So why would I go see the movie? In the Marvel cinematic universe is also building its characters in a very specific way that is very different than the comic books.”

Captain America: Civil War..L to R: Captain America/Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) and Iron Man/Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) ..Ph: Zade Rosenthal ..©Marvel 2016
Captain America: Civil War..L to R: Captain America/Steve Rogers (Chris Evans) and Iron Man/Tony Stark (Robert Downey Jr.) ..Ph: Zade Rosenthal ..©Marvel 2016

The conflict between Iron Man and Captain America is more in depth than I could have imagined. The acting, writing, editing…all of is excellent.

Political Angle

You cannot divorce politics from a movie called Captain America. As Paul Bettany put in our interview, “[Captain America Civil War] talks about some of the things that we sometimes want to escape from. Unilateral intervention from a super power is on one level [what] this film talks about. The need for a strong regulatory body. That’s pretty topical stuff. Which is amazing for a movie that’s this broad and popular. A popcorn movie and this much of a popular franchise.”

Marvel's Captain America: Civil War Sokovia Accords Photo Credit: Film Frame © Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War
Sokovia Accords
Photo Credit: Film Frame
© Marvel 2016

The Grey Area

Captain America embodies what is right in a world that is black and white. As we all know, life is really about grey areas. The movie focuses on the grey areas. Super heroes feel like they are doing the right thing by saving the day, but at the end of the day, people are harmed as they save the day.

Marvel's Captain America: Civil War L to R: Falcon/Sam Wilson (Anthony Mackie), Ant-Man/Scott Lang (Paul Rudd), Hawkeye/Clint Barton (Jeremy Renner), Captain America/Steve Rogers (Chris Evans), Scarlet Witch/Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen), and Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan) Photo Credit: Film Frame © Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War
L to R: Falcon/Sam Wilson (Anthony Mackie), Ant-Man/Scott Lang (Paul Rudd), Hawkeye/Clint Barton (Jeremy Renner), Captain America/Steve Rogers (Chris Evans), Scarlet Witch/Wanda Maximoff (Elizabeth Olsen), and Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan)
Photo Credit: Film Frame
© Marvel 2016

Loyalty

The movie focuses on loyalty as the main theme. Captain America is all about doing what is right but is conflicted with the loyalty and even love that he feels for Buckey. Chris Evans described the relationship perfectly. “You have Bucky, this one guy, this one person who is the remaining chapter of his life before. You’re pitting his current family with his old family. You can’t ask any man to choose. It’s like taking the friends you went to high school with compared to the friends you met in college. There are two worlds you try and somehow find a way to blend. For Cap, Bucky is his only remaining thing. It’s the first time he’s said I’m choosing me over you. It’s tough for him, but I like that. It gives him a little bit of conflict because he can be a little boring.”

Marvel's Captain America: Civil War L to R: Director Anthony Russo, Chadwick Boseman (Black Panther), Sebastian Stan (Winter Soldier) and Director Joe Russo filming a scene on set. Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal © Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War
L to R: Director Anthony Russo, Chadwick Boseman (Black Panther), Sebastian Stan (Winter Soldier) and Director Joe Russo filming a scene on set.
Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal
© Marvel 2016
Captain America: Civil War L to R: Sebastian Stan (Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes) and Director Anthony Russo on set. Ph: Zade Rosenthal ©Marvel 2016
Captain America: Civil War
L to R: Sebastian Stan (Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes) and Director Anthony Russo on set.
Ph: Zade Rosenthal
©Marvel 2016
Marvel's Captain America: Civil War..Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan)..Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal..© Marvel 2016
Marvel’s Captain America: Civil War..Winter Soldier/Bucky Barnes (Sebastian Stan)..Photo Credit: Zade Rosenthal..© Marvel 2016

Funny 

I love that every couple of minutes the movie is broken up with quick funny jokes. It keeps the movie light even with the very pretty heavy subject matter.

I am loving all the new female characters in the new movie. They have Scarlet Witch, Black Window and Agent 13. I love them all because they are amazing role models for girls that love these movies. I found a great top on the DisneyStore.com in the personalization shop. They have all kinds of different products that you can customize. Everything from baby gear to mommy gear!

Disney Personalization Shop -9 Disney Personalization Shop -8 Disney Personalization Shop -13 Disney Personalization Shop -12 Disney Personalization Shop -11

Photos from Krystally Photography

Captain America Civil War (2 of 5) Captain America Civil War (5 of 5) Captain America Civil War (4 of 5)

Check out the preview of the trailer for the film:

Like CAPTAIN AMERICA on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/CaptainAmerica
Follow CAPTAIN AMERICA on Twitter: https://twitter.com/CaptainAmerica
Follow Marvel on Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/marvel/
Visit the official CAPTAIN AMERICA website here: http://marvel.com/captainamerica
CAPTAIN AMERICA: CIVIL WAR is now playing in theatres everywhere!

1 thought on “Captain America Civil War Review”

Leave a Comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.